Movie Spotlight: Star Wars My Fandom Awakens

Hello all. As I mentioned previously, I was super hyped for the new movie having been a lifelong Star Wars fan. I saw the originals at a really young age and fell in love with that galaxy far, far away.

image

Before I get to the review, I need to apologize for the lack of posts lately. I intend to jump back in this week and get some out each week by Friday night.

My recent absence is due to the holidays and an unfortunate case of strep throat that hit me and left me in the ER with an elevated heart rate and a 102 fever.

But all of that pales in comparison to my Star Wars fever. This is something I have felt before as I was born in the 80’s and was there for the release of the prequels. And the disappointment that followed.

I almost lost my love for Star Wars after the prequels or at the very least was burnt out, but it was a combination of introducing my daughters to the original trilogy (the prequels too) and the announcement of Episode VII that started to bring me back and get me excited..

The Sunday after the film opened, I had the new experience of taking my wife and kids to see the movie and it didn’t disappoint. At all. Every single one of us enjoyed the new entry and couldn’t stop talking about it on the car ride home.

My daughters loved Rey and Leia. My wife’s favorite character was Finn. One of my old time favorites was Wedge so I find myself partial to Poe, but all these characters are great and compelling. I find myself interested in seeing their story unfold.

This in and of itself is a huge difference between this film and the prequels. The originals had the same core characters through 3 films and we grew with those actors, characters, and their journey. The prequels had Obi-Wan as the only main member through all 3. Obviously Anakin was there but portrayed in different stages of his life by two actors. Maybe that was part of the problem.

I left that theater satisfied in many ways. It was a great family film and experience for us. The characters from our heroes to Kylo Ren were interesting and had great portrayals, and the story was fun and felt like Star Wars. I look forward to the next movies.

May the Force be with you.

Leave a Reply

